‘HIRST STATUE MAY ENCOURAGE TEENAGE PREGNANCY’

Now I aint no fan of rich scuzzbag Damien Hirst but I am a fan of piers and big statues and Hirst’s female warrior  ‘Verity’ is now plonked on Ilfracombe pier. I’m just cogitating on it. But a local councillor has slammed it as ‘ encouraging teenage pregnancy’…………

 
When in Bristol I campaigned for a giant statue of Long John Silver to bestride the harbour like the Colossus of Rhodes – would have been the wonder of the age.
*******Just seen a totally bonkers review of the statue by ‘art critic’ Jonathan Jones in today’s Guardian.  After resding this and cogitating on’t I have now decided I LIKE IT!
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “‘HIRST STATUE MAY ENCOURAGE TEENAGE PREGNANCY’

  1. hippydave

    Haven’t ever read anything by Jonathan Jones that isn’t bonkers – and not in a good way.

  2. Aidan

    The best thing Hirst has ever done. A giant statue of a pregnant woman with a big fuck off sword. I love it.

  3. I’m not usually a fan of Hirst, but for me there’s a little something about this piece that sums up the British art world perfectly…

Leave a Reply

