THE GLENBUCK FOOTBALL ACADEMY

My family connections to Glenbuck and the GLENBUCK CHERRYPICKERS I’ve mentioned here many times but now I can add something more active than the b/w photos. One man ROBER GILLAN has had the vision to use the history of the Cherrypickers to motivate local youngsters to play football.

Robert-Glenbuck

By his single minded energy Robert has set up a coaching programme and discovered the long lost Ayrshire Cup -once held aloft by my grandad -in a broom cupboard in Saltcoats. He has set up the Glenbuck football Academy which you can see here: http://www.glenbuckwire.com

I’ve rashly offered to give some practical fundraising help to Robert by suggesting a game between a LIVERPOOL OLD BOYS and SCOTLAND OLD BOYS – you know Dalglish swapping sides at half time. Needless to say I have no contacts with any old boys who might be up for it. DOES ANYONE OUT THERE HAVE ANY FOOTIE CONTACTS THAT MIGHT BE USEFUL. A bloody good cause. I’ve e-mailed Fergie to see if he’ll manage the Scots team and I’ve heard JOHN DEMPSEY of Mansfield Town might be u p for it. HELP!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

