STOP COMMISIONING ARTICLES FROM PRIVATE SCHOOL AND OXBRIDGE WRITERS

A positive idea in a letter in the Guardian today……from Simon Jenkins to Laurie Penny no more articles. I can just hear the pipsqueaks……’this is not the right way to tackle inequality’ …..it’d be a fucking start though wouldn’t it.
Just to emphasise the point Owen Jones has two whole pages to plug his new book – already had a large chunk earlier in the week……..still he’s our new Orwell so shouldn’t carp. The book is a 38% style well worn run through of injustices ending thus………’the question is not whether such an establishment is unjust…….the question is whether it is sustainable’. I suspect Jones’ new book will not be so uncritically reviewed elsewhere.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “STOP COMMISIONING ARTICLES FROM PRIVATE SCHOOL AND OXBRIDGE WRITERS

  1. Reblogged this on SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH and commented:
    Of course the question is “…whether such an establishment is unjust…”; its sustainability has been proven for almost a millennia, back to the days of the Norman invasion and feudalism. The rich rule, we serve.

  2. em

    All ‘Oxbridge’ writers?

    I went to Cambridge 20 years ago from a comprehensive school on the outskirts of Sheffield. I was the second person from my school to do so. Both my parents left school at 15 and my dad had been long-term unemployed in the 80s. When I got to Cambridge, my overwhelming impression was that many people there already knew each other & the deals were already done. I made friends but was constantly aware of my ‘difference’. I hardly met any other northerners. Post-uni I didn’t walk into a well-paid job found for me by my parents or friends of friends. I had no privilege to offer back so no one was offering me anything (which is how it works). I didn’t look or sound like a person who had been to ‘Oxbridge’, or at least people’s stereotypes of such people. I went back to Sheffield (I had no money to go & live in London, say, & do internships, or ‘work experience’, as it was then called) & worked in shops/doing data entry i.e. the work I could get, interspersed with periods of unemployment. I applied for hundreds of jobs & didn’t get interviews. Eventually I was lucky enough to get work in local authority art galleries where even after 10 years or so I was never paid much more than average earnings (& was extremely grateful to earn even that, because it was a damn sight more than a lot of people I know). Then, two years ago, I got made redundant…

    Occasionally I do a bit of writing about art. Very occasionally, I get paid for it. If – unlikely, I know – a national paper offered to commission a paid piece, you & the writer of the Guardian letter seriously think I should be debarred from writing it, on the grounds that I went to Cambridge 20 years ago? Why? Perhaps you feel that I didn’t assimilate enough to my privately educated peers, didn’t attempt hard enough to make myself indistinguishable from them, should have changed utterly who I was & forgotten where I came from in order to avail myself of the ‘privilege’ some people seem to believe is freely on offer to all who study there?

Leave a Reply

